Rising above

Image

Once again I found myself being distracted from the studies I am supposed to be doing.  I have one more test and I am done.  That’s it, only one test.  I study, I read, I practice, I fail.  as near as I can tell, 68% is the best I get on these practice tests, so I go back and read, trying to find where I went wrong.   I think it’s funny that I get paid to be a writer, and I can’t pass a writing test.  Funny may not be the right word, perhaps ironic, perhaps it’s sarcastic…  yah, now I’m even doing it in my blog…  wait was that supposed to be a semicolon?

Really it’s not that I don’t want to be done, there are just so many things I’d like to be doing.  Distractions come easy, focus is a discipline.  But that is not why I chose to write.  Today, I write to share a story of fortitude, strength, and beauty.

ImageAs I was trolling through my timeline, I came across an awesome picture of a dear friend.  As others are flitting around in preparation, my friend is in silent meditation.  For some reason this stirs the emotions of my soul.  Joy, sadness, awe, compassion, friendship; I can’t put my finger on it, but it is so strong it leaks out my eyes.  We are more than friends, we are brothers.  As I ponder the photo, I realize that someone took the time to comment on it, and even said the photographer is Souki Mehdaoui.  Intrigued, I remembered my New Year’s resolution to  comment more, and step out of my introverted comfort zone.  I invited the poster to be a friend, and almost instantaneously, my news feed updated and says my new friend just commented on a link.  The picture and linked headline caught my eye; For Sale: One Platinum Diamond Ring, Once Loved.

I read the story of love that was lost, a wicked blow dealt to a lover, sadness gripped my heart.  I was so wrapped up in her story, remembering the sadness and sorrow relayed by so many that have experienced divorce or lost their loved one.  But her story didn’t stop at a broken heart.  

Very eloquently, she speaks of rising from the depths of depression and gaining strength.  Overcoming the anger and sorrow, she emotes her strength through her words.  She invites those who will, to read her past blogs as a path to her healing.  Encouraging others in her experience.

Yes, I am distracted from my studies, but I believe there is always time to encourage others, to help them feel better about their situation and offer hope.  My hope is that you find encouragement in her blogs, http://jenbrookmodel.tumblr.com

I want to encourage you to step out of your comfort zone, share your sorrow, or perhaps find someone who may be hurting, make a new friend.

You are not alone, don’t stop loving, keep on living, 

PHOTOS:

1. http://postdocs.usc.edu

2. Souki Mehdaoui via Wonder Whalen: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10202189303108677&set=t.580980988&type=1&theater

3. Unedited photograph shot on Portra 160 film by Francis Pierre. Make up and hair byDonna Graham.

Leave a Reply

